Accepting Nominations for the 2016 ELO Network Annual Awards

Every year the ELO Network honors those who have championed the needs of children and have advocated for afterschool resources and quality practices. Please review the following award descriptions and nominate deserving candidates here.  Click here to download the nomination form.

Champion for Children Award

The person who receives this award has actively shown community leadership and direction in advocating for the needs of children to ensure their success. Past recipients of the award are Mayor George K. Heartwell (2008), Former Mayor of Wyoming Carol Sheets (2009), then Assistant Superintendent from Wyoming, Dr. Tom Reeder (2010), Diana Sieger (2011), Teresa Weatherall Neal (2012), Tony Baker (2013), Dr. Wendy Falb (2014) and Chaná Edmond-Verley (2015).

Advocate Leader Award
This person is a legislator or community leader who has actively shown an interest in afterschool programs for children; has worked with the ELO Network to advocate for public policy; and has collaborated with funding resources to support local after school programs for children.  Past recipients have been State Representatives Jerry Kooiman and Tom Pearce, State Senator Bill Hardiman, State Senator Mark Jansen, U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow, Congressman Vernon J. Ehlers (2009), City Commissioner Elias Lumpkins (2011), Chief Kevin Belk, Mary Judnich (2012), Representative Winnie Brinks (2013), Larry Johnson (2014) and Commissioner Senita Lenear (2015).

Business Leader Award
This is a person or business organization that has shown leadership in promoting afterschool programs for children through volunteer activities, in-kind contributions, telling others about the importance of afterschool programs, and generally, being a voice for the cause.  Past recipients include Carleen Crawford & Assoc., Fifth Third Bank, Rockford Construction, Wolverine WorldWide, Bob VanderWeide of the Orlando Magic Team, Dana Bols from Amway, Tim Marcus from Rockford Construction, Eddie Tadlock from SMG, Janice Petrini of Express Employment Professionals and Dr. Patricia Pulliam of The Grand Rapids Times Newspaper.

Champion for Quality Award
This person has shown extraordinary efforts as an ELO Member to facilitate, promote, encourage, and lead activities that ensure afterschool programs are of the best quality for better outcomes for youth.  Past recipients include Crystal Rios, Deb VanderMolen, Branden Pecor, Jan Lunquist, Steffanie Rosalez, Carolyn Guyton and Mary C. Hartfield.
Rising Star Award
This person has been working directly with youth in after school programs and has demonstrated extraordinary effort in developing, implementing and improving his or her program and being a team player with others for afterschool programs.  Awardees are Shannon Cohen (2011), Monica Walen (2012), Lori Slager (2013) and Casey Stratton (2015).

Showcase Site Award
This award goes to an organization or program that demonstrates dedication and commitment to youth engagement and shows creativity and innovation in programming that develops the potential of the youth it serves.  The first award in 2014 went to Grandville Avenue Arts and Humanities. In 2015, the award went to Grand Rapids Initiative for Leaders.

Please complete one per nomination.  You may submit for as many categories as you would like. Click here for the link.

Please return completed scanned form to by 5 PM EST on Friday, October 14, 2016. The awards will be presented at the November ELO annual meeting on November 4, 2016 at the Downtown Market.